Published On: May 17, 2018

‘Could the CFPB‘s Complaint Database Go Dark Because Trump’s Lackey Wants to Protect Big Business?

Reprint from Findlaw, By Christopher Coble, Esq. on May 15, 2018 12:59 PM

In the wake of the 2007-08 financial crisis, Congress created the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, an agency tasked with protecting consumer rights when dealing with banks, credit unions, debt collectors, mortgage servicers, payday lenders, securities firms, and other financial institutions.

Part of the CFPB’s mission is taking, compiling, and tracking consumer complaints in a massive database, a database that, as of this writing, remains publicly viewable, searchable, and even downloadable. But interim CFPB head Mick Mulvaney (Trump’s “temporary” appointee to head CFPB) has indicated the agency may shut down public access to the complaint database.

Public Peeves

The database contains more than 1.5 million consumer complaints regarding their bank accounts, credit cards, mortgages, and other financial services. And while federal law requires the CFPB to maintain the complaint database, it does not require that it be made public. “I don’t see anything in here that I have to run a Yelp for financial services sponsored by the federal government,” Mulvaney said during a speech at an American Bankers Association meeting last month. “I don’t see anything in here that says that I have to make all of those public.”

Unlike Yelp, however, the CFPB gives companies an opportunity to determine whether the person making the complaint is in fact a customer and file a written response before any of the information is made public on the database. Whether companies will have the same motivation to respond to consumer complaints if the database is made private, however, is up for debate.

Pay to Privatize?

Bribery at its finest.

Why pull the database from public view? As the Washington Post points out, eight of the 10 most complained about companies made significant contributions to Mulvaney’s political campaigns, and 19 of the top 30 donated over $140,000:

  • Equifax: Subject of 83,252 complaints (the most), and contributed $5,000;
  • Experian: Subject of more than 72,000 complaints, and contributed $6,000; and
  • JPMorgan Chase, Bank of America, and Wells Fargo: Subjects of more than 50,000 complaints each, and contributed thousands of dollars, all according to a report by Public Citizen.

Is Mulvaney trying to hide information

“Is it possible,” wondered Michael Tanglis, senior researcher for Public Citizen and author of the report, “that Mulvaney’s horrible idea of hiding the CFPB’s complaint database is connected to the fact that the most complained-about companies contributed to him?”

The CFPB’s database isn’t hidden from the public yet, so if you want to read complaints (or post one of your own) now’s the time to do it.

By |Published On: May 17th, 2018|Last Updated: August 2nd, 2020|

Share this article

About the Author: Diane Drain

Diane is a well respected Arizona bankruptcy and foreclosure attorney. As a retired law professor, she believes in offering everyone, not just her clients, advice about bankruptcy and Arizona foreclosure laws. Diane is also a mentor to hundreds of Arizona attorneys.

*Important Note from Diane: Everything on this web site is offered for educational purposes only and not intended to provide legal advice, nor create an attorney client relationship between you, me, or the author of any article. Information in this web site should not be used as a substitute for competent legal advice from an attorney familiar with your personal circumstances and licensed to practice law in your state. Make sure to check out their reviews.*

Law Office of D.L. Drain, P.A., Arizona Bankruptcy Lawyer - Google Reviews
Law Office of D.L. Drain, P.A., Arizona Bankruptcy Lawyer - Yelp Reviews
Law Office of D.L. Drain, P.A., Arizona Bankruptcy Lawyer - Avvo Reviews
Avvo - Rate your Lawyer. Get Free Legal Advice.
Law Office of D.L. Drain, P.A., Arizona Bankruptcy Lawyer - Alignable Reviews
Law Office of D.L. Drain, P.A., Arizona Bankruptcy Lawyer - Better Business Bureau
5 / 5

“You folks are the BEST OF THE BEST in Arizona.” M.H.

You and Jay are the best attorneys I have ever had or needed and thank God for the Honorable Robert Gottsfield in recommending you folks – I would have never made it through the entire process without you and Jay and God Bless you both always and stay in touch as well. You folks are the BEST OF THE BEST in Arizona.

5 / 5

“My only regret is that I didn’t find Diane sooner.” K.H.

I can’t say enough good things about Diane. The way she handled my not typical circumstances was amazing. I was very nervous to start the bankruptcy process but Diane just has a very comforting way of explaining the whole process. My only regret is that I didn’t find Diane sooner. If you find yourself in a financial situation that you can’t correct on your own, please Call Diane Drain as soon as possible.

5 / 5

“Filing for bankruptcy can be a stressful life event” R.A.

Filing for bankruptcy can be a stressful life event, and selecting the right attorney can add to this stress. Diane and Jay were a pleasure to work with, and it is obvious that they are passionate about helping people get their life back on track. I would highly recommend them if you need a bankruptcy attorney.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 7, 2020

    The question – can a President remove the Director of Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) ‘just because’? The answer – yes.  But then it gets a little more complicated.  The [...]

  • Published On: May 31, 2020

    Who knew that I was a leader in providing knowledge to others (now called “Democratizing Knowledge)!! An article on Wired, Natalie Chyi, focuses a light on how COVID-19 has changed the prospective of on sharing [...]

  • Published On: March 31, 2020

    Coronavirus Stimulus Package F.A.Q.: Checks, Unemployment and More (summary from New York Times, March 27, 2020, plus other resources). On March 27, 2020, the President signed a $2 trillion economic relief plan to offer assistance [...]

  • Published On: November 30, 2019

    New rule removes interest rate limits on subprime and payday lenders According to an article in Credit Slips, posted by Adam Levitin, the Trump administration has just proposed a rule that declares open season on [...]

My intention is to put you back in control of your life
Start with $0 down*. We provide affordable payment plans.

FREE CONSULTATION